NanoSafety Training School 2023

SSbD Approaches for Chemicals, Advanced Materials & Plastics

About the School

The school will take place in the historic centre of Venice, Italy, from 15–19 May 2023 and aims to transfer State-of-the-Art knowledge on various topics from key experts to the new generation of professionals, using interprofessional education in hands-on sessions.

Join our school and learn more about Safe and Sustainable by Design!

Venue: Venice, Italy, Auditorium Santa Margherita

Dates: Social get-together: 14 May 2023 (evening) | School 15–19 May 2023

Agenda: HERE >>


Auditorium Santa Margherita, Dorsoduro 3689, Campo Santa Margherita, 30123 Venezia

Who should attend?

  • PhD Students and Postdocs
  • Senior Researchers
  • Industry Practitioners
  • Regulators
  • Policy Makers
  • Civil Society representatives
  • Anyone else interested in the Safety and Sustainability of Advanced Materials and Plastic
Topics Benefits
  • Safe-and-sustainable-by-design approaches for nanomaterials and advanced materials
  • Environmental and health impacts of micro and nano plastics
  • Physicochemical  characterisation methods for advanced materials
  • Methods to assess the release of advanced materials, their fate, biodistribution and exposure
  • New approach methodologies (NAMs) for hazard assessment of advanced materials
  • FAIR data management in nanoinformatics
  • Computational modelling of properties and interactions
  • Sustainability assessment methods (environmental, social and economic)
  • How to make my method ready for regulatory acceptance?
  • Policy perspectives  on risk governance of nanotechnologies
  • Science diplomacy: The role of interdisciplinarity in SSb


The following projects and initiatives organise the Nanosafety Training School:




  • Gain in-depth interdisciplinary understanding of key topics pertaining to the safety and sustainability of advanced materials and plastics
  • Engage in a dialogue with peers and key experts
  • Benefit from a variety of additional networking opportunities such as a social dinner

School Certificates

Each participant will receive a Certificate of Attendance upon successful completion of the School.


Scientific enquiries:

Organisation, logistics, local support and administration:

School Committees

Organising Committee (alphabetical)

  • Cathrin Cailliau, Yordas Group (Forchheim, DE)
  • Elisa Giubilato, GreenDecision (Venice, IT)
  • Hildegard Luhmann, European Research Services GmbH (Münster, DE)
  • Lisa Pizzol, GreenDecision (Venice, IT)
  • Paola Basso, GreenDecision (Venice, IT)
  • Stefania Melandri, Warrant Group S.p.A. (Casalecchio di Reno, IT)
  • Susanne Resch, BioNanoNet Forschungsgesellschaft (Graz, AT)

Scientific Committee (alphabetical)

  • Andrew Nelson, University of Leeds (Leeds, UK)
  • Anna Costa, National Research Council of Italy (Faenza, IT)
  • Antonio Macromini, University of Venice (Venice, IT)
  • Antreas Afantitis, NovaMechanics (Nicosia, CY)
  • Camila Delpivo, LEITAT Technological Center (Barcelona, ES)
  • Carlos Fito, Instituto tecnológico del embalaje, transporte y logística (Valencia, ES)
  • Carlos Rumbo, Universidad de Burgos – ICCRAM (Burgos, ES)
  • Danail Hristozov, GreenDecision (Venice, IT)
  • Damjana Drobne, University of Ljubljana (Ljubljana, SL)
  • Hans Bouwmeester, Wageningen University (Wageningen, NL)
  • Ilaria Zanoni, National Research Council of Italy (Faenza, IT)
  • Jan Van Impe, Catholic University of Leuven (Gent, BE)
  • Jane Muncke, Food Packaging Forum (Zurich, CH)
  • Karen Steenson, University of Leeds (Leeds, UK)
  • Lang Tran, Institute of Occupational Medicine (Edinburgh, UK)
  • Lesley Tobin, Optimat Limited (Glasgow, UK)
  • Maria Dusinka, Norwegian Institute for Air Research (Kjeller, NO)
  • Mark Wiesner, DUKE University (Durham, USA)
  • Martin Himly, Paris Lodron University Salzburg (Salzburg, AT)
  • Miguel A. Banares, Spanish National Research Council (Madrid, ES)
  • Nuria Espallargos, The Norwegian University of Science & Technology (Trondheim, NO)
  • Otmar Schmid, HELMHOLTZ MUNICH (Neuherberg/Munich, DE)
  • Socorro Vazquez-Campos, LEITAT Technological Center (Barcelona, ES)
  • Steffi Friedrichs, AcumenIST – Smart innovation in Science &Technology (Brussels, BE)
  • Sonia Martel, Universidad de Burgos – ICCRAM (Burgos, ES)
  • Susanne Resch, BioNanoNet (Graz, AT)
  • Tobias Soeger, HELMHOLTZ MUNICH (Neuherberg/Munich, DE)
  • Virginia Mata Marcano, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Barcelona, ES)
  • Zhenyu Zhang, University of Birmingham (Birmingham, UK)

Organising projects


These projects have received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 952924 (SUNSHINE), No  862444 (ASINA), No 952921 (CHARISMA), No  953152 (DIAGONAL), No  953183 (HARMLESS),  No 814426 (NanoInformaTIX), No 862296 (SABYDOMA), No 862419 (SAbyNA), No 862195 (SbD4Nano), No 814401 (Gov4Nano), No 731032 (NanoCommons), No  814530 (NANORIGO), No 814572 (NanoSolveIT), No 814425 (RISKGONE).